Your Subtitle text
Gayle Shirley, author

Books she has published include:

The Fang Gang, 2008, Dickeylake Press.

Amazing Animals of Montana, 2005, Globe Pequot. (formerly Four-Legged Legends of Montana)

Amazing Animals of Oregon, 2005, Globe Pequot. (formerly Four-Legged Legends of Oregon)

Amazing Animals of Colorado, 2005, Globe Pequot. (formerly Four-Legged Legends of Colorado)

More Than Petticoats: Remarkable Colorado Women, 2002, TwoDot/Falcon Press.

More Than Petticoats: Remarkable Oregon Women, 1998, TwoDot/Falcon Press.

Charlie's Trail: The Life and Art of C.M. Russell, 1996, C.M. Russell Museum/Falcon Press.

More Than Petticoats: Remarkable Montana Women, 1995, TwoDot/Falcon Press.

Four-Legged Legends of Oregon, 1995, TwoDot/Falcon Press.

Four-Legged Legends of Colorado, 1994, Falcon Press.

Four-Legged Legends of Montana, 1993, Falcon Press.

Where Dinosaurs Still Rule (co-author with Debbie Tewell), 1993, Falcon Press.

Montana Wildlife: A Beginner's Field Guide, 1993, Falcon Press.

A is for Animals, 1991, Falcon Press. (Out-of-print, but the author has a few for sale.)

C is for Colorado, 1989, ABC Press. (Out-of-print)

M is for Montana, 1988, ABC Press.

To order a copy of The FANG GANG

Or other Gayle Shirley books
send a note to
4150 Bobcat Dr.
Helena, MT 59602
or call: 406.457.1918

or email:

You can also order many of Gayle's books from Globe Pequot, Amazon, Barnes and Noble or other book stores or online web sites.

Gayle Shirley, who has published 12 children’s books, began writing them by accident.

She had received an ABC book on Alaska from a friend as a gift, and was reading it to her son. She thought it would nice if Montana had an ABC book like that. Then she thought: “Why don’t I write that book?”

The result was her first book, M is for Montana, which was first published in 1988. Since then, more than 30,000 copies of the book have been printed. The success of the book prompted her to later write C is for Colorado and A is for Animal.

Gayle started writing “books” in the third grade just for the fun of it. She earned a journalism degree from the University of Montana in 1977, and worked for the Missoulian and the Helena Independent Record before taking a job as the children’s book editor with Falcon Press.

More recently, Gayle has served as public information officer for several state agencies, including the Montana Legislature where she now works. She lives in Helena, Montana, with her husband, Steve, and has two grown sons, Colin and Jesse.

Most of Gayle’s books are geared toward children and young adults, but many adults also say they enjoy reading them. One that is popular with both children and adults is Charlie’s Trail: The Life and Art of C.M. Russell, an easy-to-read biography of the Western artist, from his mischievous childhood through his rowdy cowboy days to his inspiring career as a painter and sculptor.

Similarly, another series of books that Gayle wrote that’s popular with children and adults tells the stories of remarkable western pioneer women who overcame great obstacles. The first in the series, More than Petticoats: Remarkable Montana Women tells the stories of 14 Montana women. Gayle also wrote Petticoat books on Colorado and Oregon. She currently is in the process of revising and expanding More Than Petticoats: Remarkable Oregon Women, which will be reissued next spring. Globe-Pequot has published Petticoat books on a number of other states. You can follow the link above to read one of the chapters, which profiles Tabitha Moffatt Brown, the "mother" of Oregon.

Gayle also wrote three books that tell the stories of remarkable animals of the West. Four-Legged Legends of Montana (you can read a chapter here on the famous race horse Spokane) has ten true tales on Montana creatures, and Gayle has Oregon and Colorado versions. After Globe-Pequot purchased Falcon Press, they reissued the books under new titles: Amazing Animals of Montana, Amazing Animals of Oregon, and Amazing Animals of Colorado.

She also wrote Montana Wildlife, a children’s guide to the state’s most remarkable animals, and was the co-author of Where Dinosaurs Still Rule, a guide to dinsosaur sites in the West.

Gayle’s most recent book, The Fang Gang, is her only work of fiction, and is based on the experiences of her son Colin, whom she read the ABC book to so many years ago.

The 104-page chapter book tells the story of three Montana schoolchildren who venture out for a fun night of trick or treating. They have all agreed to dress as blood-sucking vampires this Halloween, and they call themselves the Fang Gang.

While their plan is to stuff their bags with candy and spook young neighbor kids, what they don’t expect is the fright they themselves will get at the dilapidated, once-deserted Carfax mansion. They discover the mansion has new occupants and, against their better judgment, they enter and meet a strange young girl and her notorious uncle. Soon they wonder if they’ll ever get out alive.

You can read the first chapter here.


Website Builder